Slope Cards

This was a good activity I did with my class. I gave out these cards and had students find the slope of them and post them on the board. I asked them to write the equation that was written on their card on the board, along with the slope that they found.

Note: at this point students knew how to find slope by finding consecutive points and then observing the rate of change between them.

Then I asked kids for observations. We noticed that with some of the equations, the slope was the same as the number in front of the “x”. For others, this wasn’t the case. I asked them to give me a conjecture for when the slope will be the same as the number in front of the “x.”

didn’t ask them to do any of the following:

  • Explain why the slope followed “m” in y = mx + b
  • Explain why the slope didn’t follow “a” in ax + by = c
  • Confirm this conjecture with any additional examples

I probably should have, though.

Leave a Reply

